Hari Sarvothama

  • Lord Vishnu is the all-pervasive Lord who is the maintainer of the universe and the complete cosmic creation.
  • He is also called Narayana, which means the shelter, resting place or ultimate goal of all living entities. It also means the one whose abode is the causal waters (Karana Ocean), and one who lives in the hearts of all living beings.
  • He is also called Hari, or one who removes the darkness of illusion. This illusion ultimately means the idea that the living beings live separate from, or without connection to, the Lord.
  • Hari is the Deity worshipped in the Vedas and their scriptural adjuncts.
  • He is the Supreme Lord, and is the only entity primarily praised in all true scriptures.
  • Hari is the Lord, is the Cause, the Protector, and the Destroyer of all Creation known and unknown, and is responsible for all bondage and liberation.
  • He is beyond the scope of all that is destructible and indestructible, and His worship is the purpose of one's existence.
  • He is free of all flaw, and has an infinite number of good attributes.

    According to Sri Madhwacharya, Vishnu is "worshippable by all (other) deities, and by everyone, to their best ability." Thus, other deities are worshiped only as iconic representatives of the Lord and not as independently authoritative figures. However, Mâdhvas believe that all deities except for Vishnu's eternal consort Lakshmi, are amukta-jîvas (un-liberated souls) performing service to Him. 

    Mâdhvas recognize a "târatamya" or divine hierarchy of deities after Vishnu, which is derived from shâstra sources, and said hierarchy is very important in considerations of worship, since each lesser deity is worshipped as the iconic representative of the next higher one (rûpam rûpam pratirûpo babhûva, as the Veda says), with the idea being that all worship is ultimately meant for Vishnu only.

Following is the hierarchy of Taratamya Devataas

1. Hari aliasVishnu (Sarvottama)
2. Mahalakshmi 
3. Brahma and Vayu 
4. Saraswathi  (Brahma Pathni) and Bharathi (vayu Pathni)
5. Garuda, Shesha and Rudra 
6. Krishna's shanmahishi's: Nila, Bhadra, Mitra Ninda, Kalandi, Lakshna, Jambavathi, tulasi
7. Swuparni (aruda Pathni), Varuni (Shesha Pathni) and Parvathi (Rudra Pathni)
8. Indra and Kama
9. Ahamkarika Prana 
10. Daksha, Anirudda (Kamaputra), Rathi (Kamapathni), Swayumbhuva Manu,  Bruhaspathi, shachi (Indra pathni)
11. Pravahavayu 
12. Surya, Chandra, Yama and Shataroopa (Swayambhuva Manu pathni )
13. Varuna
14. Narada
15. Bhrugu, Agni  and Prasoothadevi ( Daksha Pathni)
16. Sapta Rishi's, Prahlada and Vyvaswathamanu
17. Mitra, Niraruthi, Pravahidevi (Pravahavayu Pathni) and Tara (Bruhaspathi Pathni)
18. Vishyaksena, Ganapathi, Ashwini Devataas (Nasathya and Dhasra), Kubera and Shata Devataas.
19. Karmaja Devataas.
20. Parjanya, Gamga (Varuna Pathni), Samja (Surya Pathni), Rohini (Chandra Pathni), Viradusha (Anirudda Pathni), Shamala (Yama Pathni)
21. Kurmadhiankayatha Devathas
22. Svaha (Agni Pathni)
23. Budha
24. Devaki, Yasodha, Usha (Ashwini Devathas Pathni)
25. Shanaishchara, Dhara
26. Pushkara
27. Ajanaja Devataas
28. Chirapithru’s
29. Deva Gamdharvas
30. Manushya Gamdharvas
31. Manushya Chakravathis
32. Manushyoththamas- nara’s, bhuchara’s, khechara’s, krimi and thruna

back to home page


  Total no of visits: 19133 visitors (34422 hits) on this Website! This website is owned by Sri Hari Vayu Guru Seva Trust